Types of Certification

Following are the certifications offered by the AAB Board of Registry:

MT(AAB) Medical Technologist Qualifications
ALS(AAB) Andrology Laboratory Scientist Qualifications
ELS(AAB) Embryology Laboratory Scientist Qualifications
MDxT(AAB) Molecular Diagnostics Technologist Qualifications
MLT(AAB) Medical Laboratory Technician Qualifications

The primary difference between the MT, ALS, ELS, MDxT, and MLT certifications is one of responsibility and supervisory capabilities in the laboratory. The MT performs tests, including high complexity procedures, with a minimum of supervision. An MT may supervise MLTs.

MLTs perform waived and moderately complex clinical laboratory procedures under the supervision of the laboratory director.

ALS, ELS, and MDxT certifications are equivalent to an MT certification in the fields of andrology, embryology, and molecular diagnostics, respectively.